Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Conference Call: TIP A South African view of Apartheid View

March 16 @ 12:00 PM

TIP-Logo

Countering the Lies of ‘Israel Apartheid Week:’
A South African View

Conference Call, Thursday, March 16, 2017
12:00 p.m. ET with
Benji Shulman, South Africa-Israel Forum
This month and next, Israel and its supporters around the world are again confronting the so-called ‘Israel Apartheid Week (IAW):’ an annual global festival of antisemitism and hatred directed at the Jewish state.

Pro-Israel organizations and the broader Jewish community are no strangers to the provocations of IAW, continually developing novel ways of countering the propaganda onslaught. In South Africa – where genuine ‘apartheid,’ or enforced racial segregation, prevailed for almost a century – the work of groups like the South Africa-Israel Forum and the South African Zionist Federation has demonstrated that even in the most unfavorable circumstances, the slander that Israel is a racist state can be effectively confronted, through education, debate, thoughtful visits to Israel and strategic communications.

Join The Israel Project as we welcome Benji Shulman of the South Africa-Israel Forum to discuss what pro-Israel activists in America can learn from our partners in South Africa, as we push back against IAW and its hate campaign.

ABOUT THE SPEAKER

Benji Shulman is the executive director of the South African Israel Forum (SAIF), based in Johannesburg. A graduate of the University of Witswatersrand, Benji has served the South African Jewish community with distinction, as a former chairperson of the South African Union of Jewish Students, education officer for the Jewish National Fund of South Africa, board member of the South African Friends of Israel and director of Public Affairs for the South African Zionist Federation.

Benji has accompanied a number of young black BDS activists on tours of Israel; as a direct result, many of those participants are now working with the NGO Africans for Peace to push back against the BDS campaign. Together with TIP, Benji worked on producing the briefing “New Perspectives on Israel and Palestine,” authored by Africans for Peace activists, which offers the most comprehensive response yet to the accusation that Israel is an apartheid state.

Thursday, March 16, 2017
Los Angeles 9:00 a.m.
Denver 10:00 a.m.
Chicago 11:00 a.m.
Washington/New York 12:00 p.m.
London 5:00 p.m.
Israel 7:00 p.m.
To RSVP please reply to Allison at AllisonD@theisraelproject.org

Details

Date:
March 16
Time:
12:00 PM
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,

Organizer

The Israel Project
Website:
www.tip.org